University of Akron’s “Akronauts” rocket team

The Rocketry Show Podcast

Welcome to episode 6.96!

We are joined by the University of Akron's "Akronauts" rocketry team!

We were joined by the following team members:

Team President - Emily Armbrust Chief Engineer - Blake Bowser Former Team President - Mattew Stanko Treasurer - Olivia Renkel Former Chief Engineer - Mattew Reppa Project Manager - Jon Davis

The team formed in 2014, and have been involved in a number of national STEM focused rocket competitions, including NASA Student Launch(USLI), and Spaceport America Cup

They give a fun and detailed overview of what their team is all about, and a couple of their recent competition projects.

You can visit their website for more information at

Here is a listing of the Overall Winners and Awards in the 2020 NASA Student Launch competition:

Overall Winner: Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee 2nd Place: University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Charlotte, North Carolina 3rd Place: University of Alabama in Huntsville, Huntsville, Alabama 4th Place: University of Akron, Akron, Ohio 5th Place: North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina 6th Place: University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana 7th Place: Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama 8th Place: Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon 9th Place: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana 10th Place: University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio